You are here

Tourism Advisory Board Elects Officers


PIERRE, S.D. – The Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board has elected new officers for the coming year.

Ted Hustead* of Wall was elected board president during a meeting today in Pierre. Ivan Sorbel of Pine Ridge was elected vice president.

“We are grateful for the guidance, expertise, support and service provided by the Tourism Advisory Board,” said Jim Hagen, Secretary of the South Dakota Department of Tourism. “We are fortunate to have leaders like these who help advance the visitor industry in our state.”

The Tourism Advisory Board is appointed by the Governor and includes visitor industry and citizen representatives from across the state. Board members serve as liaisons between businesses in their area and the South Dakota Department of Tourism. The board also offers input about marketing strategies for the Department.

Current Tourism Advisory Board members include Stan Anderson, John Brockelsby, Jim Entenman, Ted Hustead, George Kessler, Julie Ranum, Jim Schade, Carmen Schramm, Frank Smith, Ivan Sorbel and Kristi Wagner.

The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism and the South Dakota Arts Council. The Department is led by Secretary Jim Hagen.


For a high resolution photos of the Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board, follow this link:

Photo of full board:
Standing, L. to R.: Jim Schade, Frank Smith, Ivan Sorbel, Stan Anderson, Jim Entenman, Kristi Wagner
Seated, L. to R.: Ted Hustead, Carmen Schramm, John Brockelsby, Julie Ranum
Not pictured: George Kessler

Photo of officers, L. to R.: Ted Hustead, Ivan Sorbel

*Brockelsby (BRAHK’-uhlz-bee)
*Entenman (ENT’-ah-men)
*Hustead (HYOO’-sted)
*Ranum (RAN’-uhm)
*Schade (SHAY’-dee)
*Schramm (sh-RAM’)
*Sorbel (SOR’-bull)


Wanda Goodman
South Dakota Department of Tourism
Phone: 605-773-3301