You are here

Tourism Advisory Board Elects Officers 2014


PIERRE, S.D. – The Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board has elected new officers for the coming year.

Julie Ranum* of Watertown was elected board president during a meeting today in Pierre. Ted Hustead of Wall was elected vice president.

“We are greatly appreciative of the support and service provided by the Tourism Advisory Board,” said Jim Hagen, Secretary of the South Dakota Department of Tourism. “These board members add valuable expertise and perspective to the programs we administer and the marketing campaigns we execute. We are fortunate to have leaders like these who help advance the visitor industry in our state.”

The Tourism Advisory Board is appointed by the Governor and includes visitor industry and citizen representatives from across the state. Board members serve as liaisons between businesses in their area and the South Dakota Department of Tourism. The board also offers input about marketing strategies for the Department.

Current Tourism Advisory Board members include Stan Anderson, John Brockelsby, Jim Entenman, Ted Hustead, George Kessler, Julie Ranum, Jim Schade, Mark Schilling, Frank Smith, Ivan Sorbel and Kristi Wagner.

The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism, the South Dakota Arts Council and the South Dakota State Historical Society. The Department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.


*Brockelsby (BRAHK’-uhlz-bee)
*Entenman (ENT’-ah-men)
*Hustead (HYOO’-sted)
*Ranum (RAN’-uhm)
*Schade (SHAY’-dee)
*Sorbel (SOR’-buhl)