You are here

2012 Tourism Advisory Board Elects Officers


PIERRE, S.D. – The Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board has elected new officers for the coming year.

Jim Schade* of Volga was elected board president during a meeting today in Pierre. Julie Ranum of Watertown was elected vice president.

“We greatly appreciate and thank those who serve on the Tourism Advisory Board,” said Jim Hagen, Secretary of the South Dakota Department of Tourism. “The board members provide added value and expertise to the programs and campaigns we have in our department. We are fortunate to have leaders like these who help advance the visitor industry in our state.”

The Tourism Advisory Board is appointed by the Governor and includes visitor industry and citizen representatives from across the state. Board members serve as liaisons between businesses in their area and the South Dakota Department of Tourism. The board also offers input about marketing strategies for the department.

Current Tourism Advisory Board members include Stan Anderson, John Brockelsby, Lois Davis, Jim Entenman, Dave Geisler, George Kessler, Julie Ranum, Jim Schade, Hannah Walters and Frank Smith. Geisler, who has served on the board for 32 years, plans to retire at the end of January.

The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism, the South Dakota Arts Council, and the South Dakota State Historical Society. The Department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.


*Schade (SHAY’-dee)
*Ranum (RAN’-uhm)
*Brockelsby (BRAHK’-uhlz-bee)
*Entenman (ENT’-ah-men)
*Geisler (GUYZ’ - lur)