You are here

Brookings County: A Regional Celebration


PIERRE, S.D. – Brookings County is home to nine towns in lovely eastern South Dakota; Arlington, Aurora, Brookings, Bruce, Bushnell, Elkton, Sinai, Volga and White. 

Lose yourself in the beauty of McCrory Gardens in Brookings. Roam 20 acres of floral botanical gardens and enjoy the beauty of nature at its best. 

The children’s maze offers an entertaining chance for family members to navigate through a winding hedge path. Two state museums dedicated to upholding the culture of the region are open year-round in Brookings. 

Enjoy six galleries and a gift shop providing items from the best artists in the region at the South Dakota Art Museum. Each exhibit is a unique experience displaying thought-inspiring artwork. 

Popular exhibits from the museum’s permanent collection include the Harvey Dunn gallery, the elegant Marghab Linens and Native American Art. Visit for more information. Just across the street is the South Dakota State Agricultural Heritage Museum. 

Explore exhibits that examine the humans, institutions and cultures shaped by the region’s rural landscape. Visit for more information. 

Travel six miles west on Hwy 14 to Volga and experience an outdoor destination at the Volga City Park. A rural schoolhouse, a rustic log house from 1872 and barred cells from the original Volga jailhouse provide a viewing window into the early days of the town. Recreational opportunities are also available in the park. 

Another destination in Volga is the Brookings County Museum. Built in 1969, it displays the history of the county by way of items from throughout the early settlement days of the 1800s. 

The Uniquely South Dakota series is a project of the South Dakota Office of Tourism designed to highlight unique aspects and attractions in each of South Dakota’s 66 counties.